expositions temporaires

Ecce Homo

2 September — 30 December 2022

An exhibition project based around an art installation by visual artist Bruce Clarke and Butō interventions by Tebby Ramasike


IN THE CONTEXT OF 

Languages :

English, French


Curators :
Bruce Clarke
Frank Schroeder - MNRDH
Olivier Bouton - MNRDH


Texts :

Bruce Clarke
Corinne Moncel
Frank Schroeder
Olivier Bouton


Graphics :

Olivier Bouton

ECCE HOMO is a project centered around an installation of paintings and sculptures by Bruce Clarke. The exhibition, hosted at the National Museum of Resistance and Human Rights in Esch-sur-Alzette from September to December 2022, is part of a current of critical figuration. It is punctuated by the Butō dance performance THE WRECKAGE OF MY FLESH, by the Tebby Ramasike collective. The performance creates a physical dialogue with the plastic works.


The artists thematize the consequences of wars, crimes against humanity and genocide on people, invoking victims, suffering, deportation, and destruction. They create links with forced displacement, exile and migration. But they also approach their intrinsic corollary: strength, physical and mental resilience, human dignity.


The artists are not only investing the museum grounds, but also the site of Thil (F), a former Natzweiler-Struthof concentration camp annex. Concurrently, their installations and performances will be on display at our partner’s site, the Kaunas Ninth Fort Museum, Lithuania, a site where thousands of Jews and political prisoners were executed during the Nazi occupation.


The project includes artistic workshops and a series of lectures, as well as an important pedagogical programme with French and Luxembourgish schools.



With the support of :



                               

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke and Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles

Close circle
Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke and Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles

expositions temporaires

Ecce Homo

2 septembre — 30 décembre 2022

Un projet d'exposition qui s'articule autour d'une installation artistique de l'artiste visuel Bruce Clarke et d'interventions de Butō par Tebby Ramasike


DANS LE CADRE DE 

Langues :

Français, Anglais


Curateurs :
Bruce Clarke
Frank Schroeder - MNRDH
Olivier Bouton - MNRDH


Textes :

Bruce Clarke
Corinne Moncel
Frank Schroeder
Olivier Bouton


Travail graphique :

Olivier Bouton

Le projet ECCE HOMO est basé sur une installation de peintures et de sculptures de Bruce Clarke. L’exposition, accueillie au Musée National de la Résistance et des Droits Humains à Esch-sur-Alzette de septembre à fin décembre 2022, se situe dans un courant de figuration critique. Elle est ponctuée par le spectacle de danse Butō THE WRECKAGE OF MY FLESH, du collectif Tebby Ramasike. La performance instaure un dialogue physique avec les œuvres plastiques.


Les artistes thématisent les conséquences de guerres, de crimes contre l’humanité et de génocides sur les individus, parlent de victimes, de souffrance, de déportation et de destruction. Ils créent des liens avec les déplacements forcés, l’exile et la migration. Mais ils abordent aussi leur corollaire indissociable : la résistance, la résilience physique et psychique, la dignité humaine.


Les artistes investissent non seulement l’enceinte du musée, mais également le site de Thil (F), ancienne annexe du camp de concentration de Natzweiler-Struthof. Parallèlement, leurs installations et performances sont présentées chez nos partenaires du Kaunas Ninth Fort Museum, un lieu où des milliers de Juifs et de prisonniers politiques ont été exécutés pendant l’occupation nazie.


Le projet comprend des ateliers artistiques et un cycle de conférences, ainsi qu’un important programme pédagogique mené avec des établissements scolaires français et luxembourgeois.



Avec le soutien de:

                 
                 

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke et Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles

Close circle
Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke et Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles