expositions temporaires

Ecce Homo

2 September — 30 December 2022

An exhibition project based around an art installation by visual artist Bruce Clarke and Butō interventions by Tebby Ramasike


IN THE CONTEXT OF 

Languages :

English, French


Curators :
Bruce Clarke
Frank Schroeder - MNRDH
Olivier Bouton - MNRDH


Texts :

Bruce Clarke
Corinne Moncel
Frank Schroeder
Olivier Bouton


Graphics :

Olivier Bouton

ECCE HOMO is a project centered around an installation of paintings and sculptures by Bruce Clarke. The exhibition, hosted at the National Museum of Resistance and Human Rights in Esch-sur-Alzette from September to December 2022, is part of a current of critical figuration. It is punctuated by the Butō dance performance THE WRECKAGE OF MY FLESH, by the Tebby Ramasike collective. The performance creates a physical dialogue with the plastic works.


The artists thematize the consequences of wars, crimes against humanity and genocide on people, invoking victims, suffering, deportation, and destruction. They create links with forced displacement, exile and migration. But they also approach their intrinsic corollary: strength, physical and mental resilience, human dignity.


The artists are not only investing the museum grounds, but also the site of Thil (F), a former Natzweiler-Struthof concentration camp annex. Concurrently, their installations and performances will be on display at our partner’s site, the Kaunas Ninth Fort Museum, Lithuania, a site where thousands of Jews and political prisoners were executed during the Nazi occupation.


The project includes artistic workshops and a series of lectures, as well as an important pedagogical programme with French and Luxembourgish schools.



With the support of :



                               

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke and Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles

Close circle
Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke and Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles

expositions temporaires

Ecce Homo

2. September — 30. Dezember 2022

Ein Ausstellungsprojekt, das sich um eine Kunstinstallation des bildenden Künstlers Bruce Clarke und Butō-Interventionen von Tebby Ramasike dreht


IM RAHMEN VON 

Sprachen :

Französisch, Englisch


Kuratoren :
Bruce Clarke
Frank Schroeder - MNRDH
Olivier Bouton - MNRDH


Texte :

Bruce Clarke
Corinne Moncel
Frank Schroeder
Olivier Bouton


Grafik :

Olivier Bouton

Das Projekt ECCE HOMO baut auf einer Ausstellung des Künstlers Bruce Clarke, die von September bis Ende Dezember 2022 im Nationalen Museum für Widerstand und Menschenrechte in Esch/Alzette gezeigt wird. Seine Bilder und Skulpturen werden der Bewegung des kritischen Realismus zugerechnet. Die Ausstellung wird ergänzt durch die Butō-Tanzperformance THE WRECKAGE OF MY FLESH des Kollektivs Tebby Ramasike, das sich auf einen physischen Dialog mit den ausgestellten Werken einlässt.


Die Künstler thematisieren die Auswirkungen von Krieg, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit und Völkermord auf den Einzelnen, sprechen von Leid, Deportation und Zerstörung. Dabei stellen sie eine Verbindung her zu Vertreibung, Exil und Migration. Auch untrennbar damit verbundene Folgeerscheinungen werden aufgegriffen: Widerstand, physische und psychische Belastbarkeit sowie Menschenwürde.


Die Aktionen der Künstler beschränken sich nicht auf das Museum, sie weiten sich auch auf das Gelände des ehemaligen Außenlagers des KZ Natzweiler-Struthof in Thil (F) aus. Gleichzeitig werden ihre Installationen und Performances von unseren Partnern des Kaunas Ninth Fort Museum (Litauen) vorgestellt, dies an einem Ort, an dem während der Nazi-Besatzung Tausende von Juden und politischen Gefangenen hingerichtet wurden.


Das Projekt umfasst künstlerische Workshops und eine Reihe von Vorträgen sowie ein umfangreiches Bildungsprogramm mit französischen und luxemburgischen Schulen.


Mit der Unterstützung von:

             
                   

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke und Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles

Close circle
Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Bruce Clarke und Tebby Ramasike

©MNRDH

Tebby Ramasike

©Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke

©Zo Fan

Lament

©Isabelle Claude Abbate

Sidération spatiale

©Bruce Clarke

In Search of a Soul

©Ignacio Molles